What does Stack Overflow want to be when it grows up?

I sometimes get asked by regular people in the actual real world what it is that I do for a living, and here's my 15 second summary:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://blog.codinghorror.com/what-does-stack-overflow-want-to-be-when-it-grows-up/
4 Likes

Also this is for y’all

(from the Computer History Museum)

6 Likes

While I agree with your statement “By this I mean questions and answers on Stack Overflow are not primarily judged by their usefulness to a specific individual, but by how many other programmers that question or answer can potentially help over time” it is unfortunately at odds with thr current functionality where the asker’s selected answer stays pinned to the top. The OP is probably in just about the worst position to judge the usefulness of each answer to the programming community at large.

4 Likes

I just want to thank you for the creation of SO. I’ve been a programmer for more than 15 years and I cannot even remember how harder it was to solve problems before SO existed. It has been a fundamental difference, and I try to contribute as best as I can.

6 Likes

@codinghorror knocks it out of the park, again.

But then I would agree with him, I’m an old curmudgeon… :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Wow. If I had any doubts before, this shows that you truly are disconnected from the decisions being made now.

A lot of what you’ve said about it being for professional and enthusiast programmers hasn’t been true for years. There’s been a constant push to accept all askers, to the detriment of the professionals.

I couldn’t agree with Izkata more. This site today is absolutely overrun with students and beginners.