UI-First Software Development

We're currently in the midst of building the new web property I alluded to in a previous post. Before I write a single line of code, I want to have a pretty clear idea of what the user interface will look like first. I'm in complete agreement with Rick Schaut here:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/04/ui-first-software-development.html

“The first is that most programmers, particularly those who’ve been trained through University-level computer science courses, learned how to program by first writing code that was intended to be run via the command line. As a consequence, we learned how to implement efficient algorithms for common computer science problems, but we never learned how to design a good UI.”

I have an issue with this. Software Engineering != Computer Science.

I’m a computer scientist, not a software engineer. Recently I’ve started planning what I’d call my first software engineering project.

Sure, I’ve written tens (or hundreds) of thousands of lines of code in the last couple years. But I have very limited experience with writing a program someone else will actually use, so I’ve been hung up. I had no clue if it would be more practical to design the GUI first, or hammer out the details of the back end.

Question answered. Thanks Jeff.

I totally agree with this. If you don’t do this, you end up spending weeks if not months with feature creep and lots of “oh shit” we didn’t think of how this would affect UI moments. 37signals has a similar philosophy: http://gettingreal.37signals.com/ch09_Interface_First.php

I made the switch and bought my team licenses to “GUI Design Studio”, and wow… I HIGHLY recommend it. It certainly isn’t perfect, I see many usability issues that the developer could improve on it. But even with it’s blemishs, it is worlds above the way I used to prototype interfaces. I recommend anyone interested in prototyping check it out.