The God Login

I graduated with a CS minor from the University of Virgina in 1992. The reason it's a minor and not a major is because to major in CS at UVa you had to go through the Engineering School, and I was absolutely not cut out for that kind of hardcore math and physics, to put it mildly. The beauty of a minor was that I could cherry pick all the cool CS classes and skip everything else.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://blog.codinghorror.com/the-god-login/
3 Likes

One subtle tweak… the Sign In and New Account buttons should have some space between them, to reduce the chance of a misclick. And the “expected” action should be the one directly below the name/password fields.

I find it kind of weird that the “Login” button looks different in different places:
Once, it’s an open lock, and once a person. Is there any particular reason for that?

All very good points, and it leads to a discussion about passwords in general. Pet hate of mine is websites that don’t allow anything other than alphanumeric characters, to my mind the site itself is not secure when they won’t let me use ! in the middle of my password string.

Have recently had to give up an account because the site decided that a few failed login attempts (thanks to a 2 year old) was a security risk, so they changed my password for me (gee thanks). They won’t show me all of the email address although from what they did show me I could figure out which one it was - and their forgot password email never arrives (apparently a common problem with this very large site). Naturally of course there is no way to contact anyone there either.