It's a UNIX system! I know this!

https://jurassicsystems.com/

So I’ve been immersing myself in the world of Linux for the last 12 months, to bring my decades of Windows experience in line.

I’ve been a command line non-enthusiast for basically my whole life, so I find that it takes a looooong time for me to memorize the commands that are essential, but I’m slowly getting there. This topic is a series of cheatsheets I’ll refer to as I go. If you have suggestions to improve anything I’ve posted here, please do!

:warning: I assume you are root for many of these commands. If you aren’t, you’ll get errors trying to do some of the sys-admin-y kinds of things I describe below. So use sudo -s to become root as you need to, and exit to stop being root.

:bell: When you are root your command line will end in #, and $ otherwise.

3 Likes

Initial Build and Burn-in testing

RAM

Memtest86, any version, from bootable media. One complete error-free pass. 64GB takes 2 hours, 128GB 4 hours, and so on.

OS / DISK

Install Ubuntu Server LTS x64.

:bell: Make sure you enable OpenSSH as part of the install so you can SSH in later over the network!

badblocks -sv /dev/sda

apt-get install smartmontools
smartctl -i /dev/sda 
smartctl -c /dev/sda
smartctl -t short /dev/sda
smartctl -l selftest /dev/sda 

I consider installing an OS and a basic self check “good enough” for working disks. If you want to be ultra-sure, try the FreeNAS recommendations.

CPU

mkdir mprime
cd mprime
wget ftp://mersenne.org/gimps/p95v287.linux64.tar.gz
tar xzvf p95v287.linux64.tar.gz
rm p95v287.linux64.tar.gz

About 8 hours suffices in my experience.

Network

Set up server

apt-get install iperf
iperf -s

Set up client, connect to server IP

apt-get install iperf
iperf -c 10.0.0.1

Gigabit is 120 MB/sec or 960 Mbits/sec. 10 gigabit is 10× that :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Reconfiguring Network

What’s the network hardware look like, and the current status (up, down, whatever)

ip addr
ifconfig